View Trailer
Live Screening

Live from The Royal Ballet, Covent Garden

11th April  Tuesday   7:15pm

Live from The Royal Ballet, Covent Garden


George Balanchine’s evocation of the sparkle of emeralds, rubies and diamonds is a brilliant ballet classic.

Each of the three movements draws on a different stone for its inspiration and a different composer for its sound.  The French Romantic music of Fauré provides the impetus for the lyricism of ‘Emeralds’.  The fire of ‘Rubies’ comes from Stravinsky and the jazz-age energy of New York.  Grandeur and elegance complete the ballet in ‘Diamonds’, with the splendour of Imperial Russia and Tchaikovsky’s opulent Third Symphony.

Each section salutes a different era in classical ballet’s history as well as a distinct period in Balanchine’s own life.  Through it all, Balanchine displays his genius for combining music with visionary choreography.

Choreography George Balanchine
Music Gabriel Fauré,
Igor Stravinsky and
Pyotr Il’yich Tchaikovsky
Performed by The Royal Ballet
Emeralds Beatriz Stix-Brunell
Laura Morera
Valeri Hristov
Ryoichi Hirano
Rubies Melissa Hamilton
Sarah Lamb
Steven McRae
Diamonds Marianela Nuñez
Thiago Soares
Conductor Pavel Sorokin
Concert Master Peter Schulmeister
Orchestra Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Set designer Jean-Marc Puissant
Costume designer Barbara Karinska
Lighting Jennifer Tipton

The performance lasts about 2 hours 30 minutes, including two intervals.




Over 60s:£12.50